Gratitude

I’ve come to realize that people would die to have the life I live.

I am alive. I am breathing. I am healthy. I am in a loving relationship. I have parents and siblings. I have my significant other’s family. I have a medical condition that I have control over.

It’s 10 days until my birthday and I am reflecting upon the last year and last few days of being a 28 year old. I’ve enjoyed it thoroughly, was probably the best year out of all of my 20’s combined.

I am blessed more than the next person next to me. The past year I was unemployed for 8 months, trying to find a job, trying to find my calling. I got luckier when an opportunity arose last summer that I took, scared as ever and broke my own mold to accomplish the tasks presented to me. I sure did enjoy the moments and things I did, mainly do to my boyfriend and the never ending love he has for me all the time. I finally landed a job after that and able to pay my bills, while enjoying the luxuries of life and feeling blessed to do so.

This past Christmas, while enjoying my job, I thought another possibility had forgotten about me forever. I just figured my name had fallen through the cracks and boom, they just forgot. Unexpectedly, I got an email that changed my life forever, even if it doesn’t work out in the end. I am so proud of myself. That is incredibly rare for me to be that proud of myself. I am proud for even considering the possibility, and doing everything I possibly can to achieve the opportunity, especially because not many people are given such an opportunity. Maybe it’s meant to be, maybe it’s not. But I am proud of how far I have done for it and I’ve proven to myself all over again how strong willed I am. I really don’t take no shit from anyone and will do everything in my power to still stand at the end of it, even if I am told no.

Don’t let no or the possibility of being told no stop you or put bad doubtful thoughts in your head. You are the one holding yourself back from more opportunities.

The question I am now faced is that is it really worth it all? Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

